FACULTY OF JURIDICAL SCIENCES

COURSE: B.A.LL.B. 1II Semester

SUBJECT: Political science-III

SUBJECT CODE: BAL-301

NAME OF FACULTY: Dr. Shiv Kumar Tripathi

Lecture-18



1. General Assembly

- The General Assembly is the main deliberative, policymaking and representative organ of the UN.
- All 193 Member States of the UN are represented in the General Assembly, making it the only UN body with universal representation.
- Each year, in September, the full UN membership meets in the General Assembly Hall in New York for the annual General Assembly session, and general debate, which many heads of state attend and address.
- Decisions on important questions, such as those on peace and security, admission of new members and budgetary matters, require a two-thirds majority of the General Assembly.
- Decisions on other questions are by simple majority.
- **The President** of the General Assembly is elected each year by assembly to serve a one-year term of office.
- 6 Main Committees: Draft resolutions can be prepared for the General Assembly by its six main committees: (1) First Committee (Disarmament and International Security), (2) Second Committee (Economic and Financial), (3) Third Committee (Social, Humanitarian, and Cultural), (4) Fourth Committee (Special Political and Decolonization), (5) Fifth Committee (Administrative and Budgetary), (6)Sixth Committee (Legal).
 - Each Member State may be represented by one person on each Main Committee and on any other committee that may be established upon which all Member States have the right to be represented.
 - Member States may also assign advisers, technical advisers, experts or persons of similar status to these committees.

Other Committees:

- General Committee: It meets periodically throughout each session to review the progress of the General Assembly and its committees and to make recommendations for furthering such progress. It is composed of the President of the General Assembly and 21 Vice-Presidents of the Assembly and the Chairmen of the six Main Committees. The five permanent members of the Security Council serve as Vice-Presidents, as well
- Credentials Committee: It is mandated to examine the credentials of representatives of Member States and to report to the General Assembly.

2. Security Council

- It has primary responsibility, under the UN Charter, for the maintenance of international peace and security.
- The Security Council is made up of fifteen member states, consisting of five permanent members—China, France, Russia, the United Kingdom, and the

- United States—and ten non-permanent members elected for two-year terms by the General Assembly on a regional basis.
- "Veto power" refers to the power of the permanent member to veto (Reject) any resolution of Security Council.
- The unconditional veto possessed by the five governments has been seen as the most undemocratic character of the UN.
- Critics also claim that veto power is the main cause for international inaction on war crimes and crimes against humanity. However, the United States refused to join the United Nations in 1945 unless it was given a veto. The absence of the United States from the League of Nations contributed to its ineffectiveness. Supporters of the veto power regard it as a promoter of international stability, a check against military interventions, and a critical safeguard against U.S. domination.

MCQ
1. Select the correct total number of members of the Security Council?
A. 18
B. 15
C. 16
D. 14
2. Select the correct number member's permanent members of the Security Council?
A. 6
B. 5
C. 7
D. 4
3. Which of the following is the correct number of non-permanent members in the Security Council?
A. 9
B. 8
C. 5
D. 10

4. Which of the following country have the permanent membership in the Security Council?

- A. China
- B. America
- C. Britain
- D. All the above

5. When was the Security Council established?

- A. 12 January, 1945
- B. 12 January, 1948
- C. 12 January, 1946
- D. 12 January, 1950