

FACULTY OF JURIDICAL SCIENCES COURSE: B.A.LL.B. 11I Semester SUBJECT: Political science-III SUBJECT CODE: BAL-301 NAME OF FACULTY: Dr. Shiv Kumar Tripathi

Lecture-31



South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation (SAARC)

The South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation (SAARC) was established with the signing of the **SAARC Charter** in Dhaka on 8 December 1985.

- The idea of regional cooperation in South Asia was first raised in November 1980. After consultations, the foreign secretaries of the seven founding countries—Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka—met for the first time in Colombo in April 1981.
 - Afghanistan became the newest member of SAARC at the 13th annual summit in 2005.
 - The **Headquarters and Secretariat** of the Association are at **Kathmandu, Nepal**.

Principles

- Cooperation within the framework of the SAARC shall be based on:
 - Respect for the principles of sovereign equality, territorial integrity, political independence, non-interference in the internal affairs of other States and mutual benefit.
 - Such cooperation shall not be a substitute for bilateral and multilateral cooperation but shall complement them.
 - Such cooperation shall not be inconsistent with bilateral and multilateral obligations.

Members of SAARC

- SAARC comprises of eight member States:
 - o Afghanistan
 - o Bangladesh
 - o Bhutan
 - o India
 - o Maldives
 - o Nepal
 - Pakistan
 - o Sri Lanka
- There are currently nine Observers to SAARC, namely: (i) Australia; (ii) China; (iii) the European Union; (iv) Iran; (v) Japan; (vi) the Republic of Korea; (vii) Mauritius; (viii) Myanmar; and (ix) the United States of America.

Areas of Cooperation

- Human Resource Development and Tourism
- Agriculture and Rural Development
- Environment, Natural Disasters and Biotechnology

- Economic, Trade and Finance
- Social Affairs
- Information and Poverty Alleviation
- Energy, Transport, Science and Technology
- Education, Security and Culture and Others

The Objectives of the SAARC

- To **promote the welfare** of the people of South Asia and to improve their quality of life.
- To accelerate economic growth, social progress and cultural development in the region and to provide all individuals the opportunity to live in dignity and to realize their full potentials.
- To **promote and strengthen collective self-reliance** among the countries of South Asia.
- To contribute to mutual trust, understanding and appreciation of one another's problems..
- To **promote active collaboration** and mutual assistance in the economic, social, cultural, technical and scientific fields.
- To strengthen cooperation with other developing countries.
- To strengthen cooperation among themselves in international forums on matters of common interests; and
- To cooperate with international and regional organizations with similar aims and purposes.

MCQ

1. Currently how many members are in the SAARC organization?

- (a) 6
- (b) 7
- (c) 8
- (d) 10

2. When was SAARC established?

- (a) 1967
- (b) 1995
- (c) 1953
- (d) 1985

3. Which of the following statement is NOT correct about the SAARC?

- (a) First SAARC summit was held in Dhaka, Bangladesh
- (b) Till date 18 SAARC summits have been held

(c) As on 2015, SAARC comprises 3% of the world's area, 21% of the world's population and 3.8% (US\$2.9 trillion) of the global economy.

(d) 20th SAAARC summit will be held in New Delhi

4. Which of the following country is not the member of the SAARC?

- (a) Myanmar
- (b) Bhutan
- (c) Nepal
- (d) Maldives

5. Which of the following SAARC member has the highest population?

- (a) Bangladesh
- (b) Pakistan
- (c) Nepal
- (d) Afghanistan