

FACULTY OF JURIDICAL SCIENCES

COURSE:

Semester

SUBJECT:

SUBJECT CODE:

NAME OF FACULTY:



Lecture-1



LECTURE 1: Schools of Muslim Law

There are three major schools of Shias:

- Imamia School: this school is also known as Ithna Asharia School. This school is further divided into two sub-sects- i) Akhbari ii) Usuli. Akhbaris are very orthodox because they follow rigidly traditions of Imams. Usulis, on the other hand, interpret the texts of Quran with reference to the practical problems of day to day life.
- Ismailia School: they constitute the smallest minority group of Muslims and they considered Ismail as seventh Imam.
- Zyadis School: it was founded by Zyad and this school incorporates some of the Sunni principles as well

SELF-TEST QUESTIONS

S.NO	Question	Option (a)	Option (b)
1.			
2.			
3.			
4.			
5.			

Answers: 1-(),2-(), 3-(),4-(),5-()